26
Jan
08

Snowshoes and Silence

fenceline.jpg

As I was out snowshoeing in the woods this afternoon

with my dog, I couldn’t help but wonder how I could ever

live without these walks that I treasure so much.

It was so peaceful and still, with no breeze, mild temps

and pure silence. I would walk along for awhile, then every

so often I would stop and stand perfectly still, just absorbing

the peacefulness, then I would continue walking again,

randomly, in whichever direction I chose, only to stop again

and stand still, listening to the silence and the soft call of the

chickadees, talking to each other from the treetops.

It is at times like these that I am reminded, once again,

that I may not have everything I want, but I have everything

I need.

4 Responses to “Snowshoes and Silence”


  1. January 26, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Few are the pleasures greater than freedom. To be free is as much a mental choice as something that happens to you! Thanks for the note.

  2. 2 Sandy
    January 27, 2008 at 6:17 am

    So true! I had my first walk in the woods this week since heavy snow season began , and had the same feeling. Our woods has mostly white pine up here. We have lots of chickadees , too. Your shot reminds me of my parents farm in Oklahoma, where I spent most of my growing up years.

  3. January 27, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    The picture on my blog? It’s of a rare snowy day up here near Seattle.

  4. 4 Corky
    January 31, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Love the pictures and the thoughts.


Leave a Reply

January 2008
S M T W T F S
    Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,287 hits

