09
Feb
08

Ann Colette Hoffman

mom.jpg

Of all the pictures I have of my mother, this is my very favorite.

It was taken when she was 16 years old, and has always held  an

air of mystery for me.  I’ve often wondered what she may have

been looking at and what she was thinking about when it was taken.

She died in 1980 at the age of 42 of cancer.   Throughout her battle

with this disease, she showed remarkable strength and courage and

a tremendous will to live.   She underwent several major surgeries

and endured chemotherapy, but no matter how lousy or sick she felt,

she always had a smile and a kind word for everyone.

She and my dad owned and operated a small grocery store and this

incredible woman worked throughout her entire illness.  She would

take a little time off after a surgery, and as soon as she felt able, she

was right back in the store, working.  When she had chemo treatments,

she’d take the first day off because she was so horribly sick, but would

be right back at work the next day, even though she still didn’t feel very

good.  She worked until about 4 months before she died, when she

simply no longer had the strength to work anymore.

Her dearest wish was to live long enough to see her 3 children

graduate from high school, but unfortunately, she never saw any of

us graduate.  She passed away on June 24, 1980.

I was 16, my brother was 9 and my sister was 5.

She has always been, and will always be an inspiration to me.

She is in everything I do.  She is with me wherever I go.

She is forever in my heart.

4 Responses to “Ann Colette Hoffman”


  1. 1 Cindy Schnell
    February 9, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Nancy, So how are you doing today, well I Love this little saying for your Mom. It did bring tears to my eyes. But now that I have been through to read this, I do know more then before. I will always be there for you, because I did find out that you were there for me. Thank you very much. Keep up the good work, because that is one thing I now know that I can turn to when I am down.
    Cindy

  2. 2 Sandy
    February 10, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Beautiful tribute to your mom, Nancy. I think she is still watching her family. Yes, I agree, there is something special about that shot.

  3. 3 Kitty
    February 10, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    For the most part all I can say is Thank You for writing that. Thank You so very much. I’ve been thinking of her a great deal lately. Though she did see us graduate, of that I am sure, we just couldn’t see her.

  4. February 13, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    I got here! Yes. Well, you already know that I truly felt the spirit in this post.


Leave a Reply

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,729 hits

