08
Jun
08

One Single Impression: Pets

This is my old dog, Bill.  He was one of my best friends and the best companion I could have ever asked for. He was 3/4 German Shepherd and 1/4 Rottweiler.  He was very mellow and easy-going.  I used to call him my “gentle giant” because he was so big (112 pounds) and such a big sweetheart.  He was very loyal, following me everywhere I went and very protective as well.   We got him when he was 2 months old and he lived to be nearly 14 years old.  He’s been gone nearly 3 years now, but I still miss him very much and I probably always will.

11 Responses to “One Single Impression: Pets”


  1. June 8, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    Thanks for introducing me to Old Bill! He looks like a sweetie pie! I’m sure he was quite content to sleep at your feet while the winds blew.

  2. June 8, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    You can just see the sweetness of Old Bill radiating out from him. Such a lovely poem for a good friend. They become part of us. I’ve only had cats, 4 in total. My two girls now are still young. My Katrina lived to be 16 and Abigail was with me for almost 22 years. She also died 3 years ago. They were the best friends I ever had – and the best family. Of course the new kids bring me great joy as well, but Trini and Abigail were my teachers and my guardian angels in dark and difficult times. I like to think they are off somewhere playing and sleeping and I’m sure Old Bill is doing the same.

  3. June 8, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Thanks for sharing this. It touched my heart. Great tribult to Old Bill!

    pet peeves

  4. June 9, 2008 at 3:06 am

    I like the idea behind this – the wind howling whilst the dog sleeps.

  5. June 9, 2008 at 3:48 am

    I know the feeling. Your poem captures the feelings of love and loss. Beautiful. God bless.

  6. June 9, 2008 at 10:09 am

    He just exudes sweetness and contentment. Lovely haiku to go with him.

  7. 7 Sandy
    June 9, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing one of your special friends with us. I can tell he was a fine dog.

  8. June 10, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Loss seems to be the tax we sometimes pay for love. Very lovely.

  9. June 10, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    what a cuddly post. im sure its a relief to find his hug after arriving home. i feel that when i viist freinds who have pets.

  10. 10 Lisa at Greenbow
    June 12, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    What a handsome dog. Iknow you miss him. I am sure he keeps his eye on you even now.

  11. June 12, 2008 at 2:42 pm

    that is an awesome photo… and a beautiful story…. amazing the love shared with our pets.. sometimes, it is hard tho there is a doggy heaven… right??!!!… i saw the movie…


Leave a Reply

