15
Jun
08

One Single Impression: Permanence

The prompt this week at One Single Impression is permanence or transience, and I chose permanence.  When I think of all the things my dad taught me when I was young, I realize how important those things are and how they’ve helped me through the years, and how they will continue to help me.  Unfortunately, my dad passed away this past May, so this is my first Fathers Day without him.  He was the youngest 70 year old I’ve ever met and had an intense love of life.  He was always busy, always moving, and always had plans and goals.  This is a picture of him holding me when I was a baby.

Happy Fathers Day, Dad!

15 Responses to “One Single Impression: Permanence”


  1. June 15, 2008 at 6:38 am

    “Happy Fathers Day, Dad!”_How Proud ur Dad must be!my condolences on his demise..value ur feelings,and thank u for sharing ur thoughts..

  2. 2 Sandy
    June 15, 2008 at 9:01 am

    This is nice, and so very fitting.

  3. June 15, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    I love this post! How wonderful that you had such a loving father and such warm and happy memories. So sorry for your loss. The haiku is perfect! I love the final line. It burns brightly like a star!

  4. June 15, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Beautiful, both the photo and the words. Thank you for warming my somewhat achy heart today.

  5. June 15, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    What a lovely photo and poem and a wonderful tribute to your father. My sympathies to you on his passing. My own father died in 1990 and I still miss him. I’m sure your Dad is just beaming in heaven and telling all the other dads…. “hey, look what my kid did for me for father’s day!”

  6. June 15, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Kind words of a wise loved one can be like an embrace. God bless you on this first Father’s Day without your dad. Wishing you peace.

  7. June 16, 2008 at 5:10 am

    Wonderful words on such an appropiate day.

  8. June 16, 2008 at 7:40 am

    i am sorry to hear of your Dad’s passing & my heart goes out to you at this time. your tribute to him is so beautiful…

  9. June 16, 2008 at 11:40 am

    A beautiful tribute..

    Hugs for you…

    yearning

  10. 11 Cindy Schnell
    June 16, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Very wonderful work. You know Nancy, your the one with the strongest back-bone I’ve ever met. And the way your there for others, I love the picture, and the words.

  11. June 16, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Your dad sounds like he was a great man. I find Father’s Day difficult since my dad passed 11 years ago. You would think it would get easier, but it doesn’t. I try to focus on what a great dad my husband is.

  12. June 17, 2008 at 8:46 am

    I’m so sorry about the loss of your dad. That is a beautiful haiga to memoralize him.

  13. June 17, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    oh gee, whrz my hankie… man, the photo is definitely a tear jerker after reading your lovely story… what a wonderful legacy he left you.. something that you can forever hold onto and never lack his love… amen.. .thank you for sharing… *sniffle, sniffle*

  14. 15 Corky
    June 24, 2008 at 2:14 am

    A very proud dad. You can see the love just shining in his eyes for his little baby girl.
    Sorry I never met him but his memory lives on through you and boy did he raise a great, talented and beautiful person (your mom too gets some credit)


Leave a Reply

