02
Jul
08

Voices Of Angels

VOICES OF ANGELS

Pine needles and moss cushion each step

as I approach the river’s edge.

The wind sighs through the trees

and whispers a greeting,

like an old friend,

welcoming me back for a visit.

It invites me to come, sit and relax,

and shed my worries into the water

and let them float away

as if plucked from my mind

by the very hand of God.

It is here, in this cathedral

of pines, hemlocks and cedars

that I come to meditate

and reflect.

It is here that the birds sing

with the voices of angels.

I sit on a large, flat rock beside the river,

watching the current flow and

swirl away before me.

The water, as it splashes over the rocks,

sounds like laughter to me,

and I smile to myself.

My parents used to come here in their youth,

to this very same spot,

before they were married,

before they had children,

before life got so big and complicated,

and these simple pleasures were forgotten.

I often look at the pictures

they took of each other back in 1958.

Their faces radiate such joy,

because it didn’t matter

where they were, as long as

they were together,

and I wonder if, years later,

in the midst of a busy day

filled with responsibilities,

they ever paused in their duties

and let their minds drift back

to those simple, carefree days.

I wonder if, perhaps, they sat

on this very same rock

and watched the river flow by

and planned their future together,

smiling at the sound of laughter

and the voices of angels.

2 Responses to “Voices Of Angels”


  1. 1 Corky
    July 3, 2008 at 11:17 am

    I needed 3 tissues for this beautiful verse.
    I started it and then had to come back after getting the tissues to mop my eyes.
    BEAUTIFUL WORDS

  2. 2 Cindy
    November 6, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Very heart touching. I can’t really see clearly now.
    my tears are running down my face.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,287 hits

