12
Jul
08

Photo Saturday

Yes, apparently that’s what today turned out to be, cuz when all was said and done, and it got too dark to take any more pictures, I had 94 shots to sort through.  It started on my way home from Iron Mountain, when I stopped to take pics of the Little Popple River in Homestead, WI.   I took a walk up the road after supper and took quite a few more pics of wildflowers.  I haven’t taken a walk there in quite a while, and there was a lot to shoot, so needless to say, this post will be a little longer than normal.  So sit back, relax, and enjoy my Saturday in photos.

The Little Popple River in Homestead, WI, facing North.

Little Popple River, facing south.

Vervain

The first thing  I found on my walk was this mystery flower.  I checked one reference book so far and couldn’t find it, so I’ll check the other books I have.  This flower is about 3 feet tall with a square stem, so I’d guess that means it’s a member of the mint family.  The blossoms are only about 1/2 inch long.

Bladder Campion

Backlit Bladder Campion

Four o’clocks.  These pretty purple flowers don’t open till late afternoon, and stay open all night, hence the name.

Thimbleweed

Rabbit-Foot Clover

Hop Clover

Evening Primrose

Dogbane

Agrimony

White Sweet Clover

Dragonfly

And last but not least, a Skipper buried face first in some Yarrow.

1 Response to “Photo Saturday”



Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,463 hits

