27
Jul
08

Mystery Flower Update

On Friday I posted 2 flowers that I couldn’t identify, and after going through my reference books again I finally found out what one of them is.  The flower pictured below is a “Maryland Figwort”.  According to the book, the common name figwort refers to the early use of the plants in the treatment of hemorrhoids, an ailment once known as “figs.”  The plants were also used as a tonic; in the 1800’s, an infusion of the roots was given as a treatment for insomnia and anxiety.  Hmmm, you learn something new every day I guess.  Now if I could just figure out what the other flower is.

2 Responses to “Mystery Flower Update”


  1. 1 Corky
    August 1, 2008 at 3:13 am

    OH Gosh…… I think I’d have anxiety and insomnia if I had figs hanging out my backside……LOL 🙂
    Great shot and thanks for the info.

  2. 2 PC
    August 8, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Another name for this is Carpenters Square. They are odd looking and not exactly the most beautiful flower, but I like them. I have a volunteer in my hummingbird/butterfly garden. I found out that they are good necter plants so I let it stay.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,698 hits

