05
Aug
08

Piers Gorge

Piers Gorge, in Norway, MI is my favorite place to go explore and takes pictures.  The Menominee River flows through there and separates Wisconsin and Michigan.  It is beautiful there in any season and I’ve found some gorgeous wildflowers there that I’ve never found anywhere else.  I’ve got 18 pics of flowers to share, so I’ve decided to pass on “Vintage Tuesday” this week and start posting Piers Gorge pics instead.  I’ll post flowers today and tomorrow and on Wednesday I’ll post pics of the river.

Grass of Parnassus

Marsh Bellflower.  This is much tinier than you think, only about 3/8 inch across.

False Dragonhead, aka, Obedient Plant

Wild Mint

Wild Mint

Grass of Parnassus.  I couldn’t help posting a second shot of this flower, it’s one of my faves.

Heal-All.

Skullcap

I have no idea what this is.  I’ve searched 5 reference books and I haven’t found it yet.  Guess I’ll go back and search some more.  The stem and leaves are characteristic of the mint family, but that’s all I know for now.  Stop back in here at my blog tomorrow for the rest of the flower pics.  I’ll get them posted first thing in the morning.

2 Responses to “Piers Gorge”


  1. 1 Corky
    August 6, 2008 at 3:03 am

    Love this series of shots. Such beautiful flowers… who needs a garden!!!

  2. 2 PC
    August 8, 2008 at 9:04 am

    For your last (unknown) plant, Check the nettle family.


Leave a Reply

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,729 hits

