07
Sep
08

Unknown Road

UNKNOWN ROAD

I walk along the

Dusty, gravel road

With my dog leading the way.

He doesn’t know where

He is going, but he’s

Anxious to get there

Just the same.

We turn off onto

An unknown road

Not knowing where

It will lead,

So I just keep walking,

And eventually

I’ll find out.

All is calm, silent,

Not even a breeze

Stirs the air.

The only sounds I hear

Are the birds singing,

Calling to one another

From among the trees.

As I walk along

Through the sunlight

And shadows,

I feel I’m

In another world;

One so far removed

From my usual, hectic pace.

The farther I walk,

The more I wish

I would never have to

Turn around and go back

To that way of life,

And just to spend my days

Walking down unknown roads,

If only to see where they lead.

1 Response to “Unknown Road”


  1. 1 Lisa at Greenbow
    September 10, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    I just love this poem. I felt this way when we were in FL and walked the little used roads in some of the parks there. I felt like I was in another world it was so quiet and I wished that my dog was with me to explore this area.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,463 hits

