13
May
09

Short-Winged Blister Beetle

Yesterday when I took my morning walk in the woods, I found this interesting beetle, so I took some shots of it from different angles.  When I got back to the house I looked it up in my bug book and I found that it is a Short-Winged Blister Beetle.  The book also said that when this beetle is disturbed, it will fall over on it’s side and feign death.  How cool is that?  A bug that plays dead!  I went back out to see if I could find it again so I could pester it and see if it would play dead for me, but it was already gone.  I’ll keep looking for another one like it so I can try it and see if the book is right.

IMG_0158

Here’s a few of the new wildflowers that are coming up out in the woods now too.

IMG_0121

Wood Anemone

IMG_0081

Downy Yellow Violet

IMG_0025

Merrybells

IMG_0066

Spring Beauties

IMG_0113

Bluebead Lily

IMG_0127

False Lily Of The Valley

0 Responses to “Short-Winged Blister Beetle”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,429 hits

