25
May
09

Short-Winged Blister Beetle

A couple weeks ago I found one of these beetles in the woods and took pics of it, then came home and identified it in my reference book.  It says that when disturbed,  it will fall over and play dead.  I then went back out to see if I could find it again and pester it, but it was gone.  Yesterday, I found another one munching on a leaf.  I poked at it till it fell off the leaf and, sure enough, it played dead.  It just laid there, not moving, even when I put it in my hand.  I put it down on a leaf to watch and see what it would do, but it wouldn’t move.  I walked a few feet away to take a picture of a flower and within a few minutes it was gone.  I didn’t see if it walked or flew away.  It’s wings are so small that it doesn’t look like it could fly very good.

IMG_0409

Eating lunch.

IMG_0414

Playing dead.

1 Response to “Short-Winged Blister Beetle”


  1. 1 RD
    November 10, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    I found five of these on my yard debris bin. They played dead when I moved one for a better looks. In my 38 years on the West Coast, I never saw one until today.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,463 hits

