04
Aug
09

Monarchs

A few weeks ago I started my Monarch Project, in which I brought 3 caterpillars into the house on milkweed stalks. They formed their chrysalis’s two weeks ago and the first one emerged yesterday.  I was surprised to see it and hadn’t been paying attention to it because I read that it would take closer to 4 weeks.  I had built a wooden frame and covered it with screen and when I walked over to look, much to my surprise, there was a butterfly already hatched out.  I brought it outside to let it finish drying it’s wings and fly away.    I have another cocoon that has turned black and orange and I hope to see the butterfly emerge today.  These are the pics from yesterdays butterfly.

IMG_2073

IMG_2075

IMG_2084

IMG_2092

IMG_2096

What an amazing gift from God!

1 Response to “Monarchs”


  1. 1 Cindy
    August 29, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Wow, u sure shocked me Nancy. I can’t believe that you have only been on your blog once this month. What you trying to do give me a heartache. Pretty close. I was checking to see if you had put any pictures of the babies on.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,698 hits

