26
Dec
09

Winter Wonderland

Yesterday, when I was coming in from snowshoeing, the snow was starting to melt off of the trees, but we ended up getting more snow overnight and it stuck to everything even more than it was before.  Needless to say, it was breath-takingly beautiful out in the woods today.  My walk this morning was, well…magical.  I was just in awe of the beauty at every turn.  My planned one hour snowshoe trek ended up lasting 2 1/2 hours.   I have quite a few pics to share because I find it impossible to share any less than what I have picked out.  To anyone using dial-up, I apologize, but I urge you to be patient and let them all load.  It will be worth the wait.  I promise.  After seeing these pics you will know why I love snowshoeing so much and why I have what I call “Snowshoe Madness”.   I just can’t get enough of it and I certainly can’t get enough of the winter beauty that I saw today.  When I was out this morning, besides the obvious beauty, it was also very calm, with no breeze at all.  The peace and serenity of the world around me filled my soul in a way that is very hard to put into words, but I try to convey these feelings through my photography.   All I can say is, you really should experience it for yourself, if you haven’t already.   It will be worth it.  I promise.

My faithful snowshoeing companion, Axl, patiently waiting for me to stop taking pics and get moving.

Same little tree from yesterday’s post, but with different lighting.  I think I like yesterday’s pic better.

Happy Trails!!

3 Responses to “Winter Wonderland”


  1. 1 unknowntheartist
    December 26, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Yours pics are absolutely beautiful, I couldn’t have done a better job!

  2. 2 graydayncoffee
    December 27, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    OH. MY. GOODNESS. Talk about great composition. Thanks for these and for the ones following (I have been working backwards)

    The poem was humbling. I don’t ever want to miss those opportunities, and have wondered how many times I have missed them. True religion…ministering to widows and orphans, so says James. Thanks for the inspiration today.

    P.S. I need snowshoes. I was up to my hips in drifts yesterday. At one point, I almost lost a boot. I was exhausted at the end of my treck!

  3. April 26, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Thanks for sharing these, my dog & I used to love walking in the woods behind a home we recently sold. Buddy was always so happy there…..I miss him.


Leave a Reply

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,729 hits

