11
Feb
10

Wolf Alert

After snowshoeing in the woods around my house for six years now, this is the first time I’ve ever seen evidence of anything bigger than a fox, as far as predators go.  Saturday afternoon I went out with my dog, Axl and found what I believe to be wolf tracks on my snowshoe trails.  The reason I believe it is a wolf is because the tracks are as big as Axl’s, and Axl weighs 100 pounds.  I found the tracks within a quarter mile of the house.  I also found a stump that had obviously been urinated on quite a lot.  I was told that that is characteristic of wolves when they are mating, and  it’s their mating season right now.   So, needless to say, I will be leaving Axl home and snowshoeing alone from now on.   I feel so bad about that because he loves walking in the woods and he is such a wonderful companion.  I feel like he is being cheated, but it’s for his own good.   I went out this morning and set our game camera up by that stump to see if I can get pictures of the wolf or whatever it is.  I know we have a fox roaming around back there because I’ve seen his tracks on all my trails and I’ve seen him in our yard a few times.  I also think I’ve found coyote tracks too, so it will be interesting to see what I get pics of.  We had fresh snow on Tuesday and there were no new tracks around the stump or on my snowshoe trails since then.  Here’s a few pics of the tracks I found over the weekend.  One of these tracks is Axl’s.

This picture is Axl’s print.

The next two pics are of the pee stump.

Happy Trails!!

0 Responses to “Wolf Alert”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,698 hits

