25
May
10

Monday morning walk

Yesterday morning, as I sat out on the deck with my coffee, I tried to decide if I should go kayaking or take a walk.  I decided to take a walk and it turned out to be the right decision.  I ended up seeing something so amazingly beautiful that it took my breath away.  As I was walking down a side road, I turned and saw a doe and fawn just a short distance into the woods.  I stopped walking immediately and slowly got my camera ready.  The little fawn didn’t see me and was slowly walking towards me, but mama deer saw me and watched closely, but didn’t move.  The fawn was a little wobbly yet and probably only a day or so old.  After a minute or two, mama got nervous and started to whistle and run.  The baby dropped to the ground and mama ran a short distance away to watch.  I walked in and took a couple quick shots and left so I wouldn’t disturb them any further.  The baby laid perfectly still the whole time.  That is how they react to danger.  The mama signals an alarm and the baby drops and remains motionless and the mama runs around to draw attention away from the baby, then when the threat has passed, she comes back for the baby.  I felt bad for scaring them, but that little baby was such a wonder to see.

The quality is bad on this pic, I had to crop it quite a bit.

1 Response to “Monday morning walk”


  1. 1 Rivertrekker
    May 25, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    This is why I keep coming back to your blog,it’s very interesting. I think this post is unique.
    I get excited about wildlife.


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,561 hits

