18
Jul
10

monarch project 2010

“The more I study nature, the more I stand in awe at the works of the Creator”

~Louis Pasteur~

I was able to witness a miracle this morning.  I have been raising Monarch butterflies for the past few weeks, as I did  last summer.  My goal was to see a butterfly emerge completely from it’s chrysalis, but I seemed to keep missing my opportunity, until this morning.  When I got up I saw that the chrysalis had turned clear and I could see the butterfly inside clearly.  I new it wouldn’t be much longer till the butterfly came out, and I was hoping that it would do so before I left for church.  I brought the butterfly house into the kitchen and propped the top open so I could get pictures.  The lighting wasn’t all that great because it was so overcast outside and the indoor light didn’t help much, so there are a couple pics that are kind of dark because I was so excited at what I was seeing that I forgot to pop up the flash.  I was in the bathroom, when I looked over into the kitchen and saw that there was something sticking out of the side of the chrysalis and I realized that this was what I had been waiting for.  I ran in and grabbed the camera and got some shots, then I took a shot every 2 to 3 minutes as the wings were filling out to their full size.  The whole process took 16 minutes.  It takes several hours after that before the butterfly is ready to fly, in fact, it is still hanging in the butterfly house.  I’m starting this series of pictures with a few from last summer to show the whole process from start to finish.

The caterpillar will hang this way for a whole day before it makes it’s chrysalis.

This is the chrysalis about half-way formed.

A completely formed chrysalis.  It will be 10-14 days till the butterfly comes out.

Around 7:00 this morning.

7:33 am

7:33

7:34

7:34

7:34

7:38

7:41

7:44

7:46

7:49

7:49.  This was the last shot I took.  I have one more chrysalis left.  I’m going to be hunting for caterpillars again so I can keep raising butterflies as long as I can this summer.

2 Responses to “monarch project 2010”


  1. July 18, 2010 at 3:37 pm

    these photos take one on an incredible journey. i enjoyed seeing this process immensely. you photos are very clear & precise. i don’t suppose you got any video of this wonderful process… thanks for sharing. hope all is well.

  2. July 18, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Wow,that is so cool,I’ve never seen that before.


Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 164 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 87,463 hits

